Log: Day 12 – Even more ideas, updates, and …possible surprises w-w-what?!

okay.

So hi. I’m back – officially. It’s been pretty hectic and crazy and stressful these past few weeks, but I’m back in Barbados… again. (This has to be the third time I’ve flown back and forth from Barbados in the past 4 months…)

I meant to make this blog post yesterday and make the final Future Thoughts post today… but I got sick. :s I pretty much just drank tea and slept until about 3pm… but I’m doing a bit better today. So, here comes some updates…

I’ve been experimenting with drawing styles to see which one is the most efficient for illustrating Chapter 1. I redrew Tsurugi as a test… in color! Not sure if I’ll be drawing all the other characters out in color too… but it’s a major possibility.

Also… I got a new drawing program! While MSD4 is excellent – adding color really confuses me… @ A@ So I downloaded CrossOver (a program that allows you to run certain supported Windows software on Mac), and Paint Tool SAI! They’re both pretty neat and very, very helpful… I’ll probably be using SAI and MSD4 interchangeably.

Here’s a comparison between the old Tsurugi (in monochrome drawn in MSD4) and the new version of Tsurugi (with color drawn in SAI). Look! He even has a composite bow! Yay!

Moving on…. the written story is nearly finished. I’m pretty excited to finally get this done… but I won’t be putting up any sort of updates until it’s done completely. I kind of want to roll out each chapter in a post with some sort of description behind it.

Now for some bad news.

Musical composition. The one part of this project that I was super excited to start… it seems that it will be a while before I can actually start it. Which, of course is a huge problem and is very frustrating. Alas, while looking up information regarding the transport of musical instruments overseas with Jet Blue, I learned that there are three ways of doing so (and this is just for the instrument itself…)

1. Place the instrument in an overhead bin.

2. Check it in as regular luggage.

3. Purchase a seat adjacent yours and buckle the instrument in.

Now, while #1 was feasible and could’ve been done, there still would have been the issue of transporting the amp (which I need, and renting an amp here in Barbados, as far as I know, is not possible without paying a ridiculous amount of money). Shipping the amp would’ve been risky, since my previous experience with receiving packages in Barbados has been …fairly negative.

#2 is something I’m just not comfortable with. Things get lost, or beaten up while being transported. (I read a lot of stuff online about people having their instruments stolen, or picking up their amps at baggage claim and noticing that their travel cases were dented and/or punctured…) So I guess paranoia got the best of me there… :|

#3 wasn’t an option from the start, so…

So, I am in Barbados, sadly, without my guitar. I’m trying to make arrangements to fly back to NYC sometime next week, but that plan is currently up in the air. There’s nothing I can really do at this point but hope that I can get back in time to compose at least something.

Moving on to… good news now?

I think I have too many ideas. I’ve been trying to adapt my project to my schedule and compensate for the time that’s been spent not working on this project due to this recent family crisis, and in the midst of all this, I’ve come up with some ideas that I think (about 85% sure) can be done. One of these ideas being: how the manga will be presented!

I’m still unsure of if I want this to all be a surprise. Like a “HEY! LOOK WHAT I DID!” kind of thing. But to make up for some things, I’ll throw around a few hints. Currently on the project website, there are slideshows that you can click through that are intended to allow the reader to read through each page on their own. My intention was to have the music I’d compose play along with the slideshow, but I’ve recently decided to scrap that idea completely, because I’ve learned that there’s no way to sync audio with the slideshow pages. Instead, I will replace it with something… a bit different. While the slideshow will still be available, there will be something else as well~ How this “new idea” will be set up and viewed, will remain a mystery… (at least until the manga’s complete.) Which will be soon, don’t worry!

…Quick notes to self:

I saw a recommendation for a book by Stephen King, titled “On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft“. Eventually, I should start reading that book (if I can find it anywhere~). It’ll probably be helpful.

Also, there’s a neat article about “being busy”. While not directly related to my project, it does talk about time management… which is definitely important for this project…

I especially like this quote here:

Instead of saying “I don’t have time” try saying “it’s not a priority,” and see how that feels. Often, that’s a perfectly adequate explanation. I have time to iron my sheets, I just don’t want to. But other things are harder. Try it: “I’m not going to edit your résumé, sweetie, because it’s not a priority.” “I don’t go to the doctor because my health is not a priority.” If these phrases don’t sit well, that’s the point. Changing our language reminds us that time is a choice. If we don’t like how we’re spending an hour, we can choose differently.

Read that article from the Wall Street Journal here.

…WELL THAT’S ALL FOR NOW~

I need to get to work! I’ll be back to queue a blog post for tomorrow any guesses to what it’ll be?

~vertica

Leave a Reply

